Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Academic Branding: Improving Your Visibility, Network, and Career Opportunities

July 26 @ 16:00 - 17:00

Academic Branding is a new approach to articulating your unique expertise and purposefully managing the way you are perceived in face-to-face and virtual encounters. Branding puts you in the driver’s seat, allowing you to tell the story you want to tell about yourself, your scholarship, and your leadership.

An academic brand incorporates your clear and cohesive brand statement, visual images, online presence, and interpersonal interactions. A well-crafted brand consistently differentiates you as a thought leader and highlights your contributions through both traditional media and online platforms. Branding can increase the visibility and impact of your work, grow and cultivate your academic support network, and generate new career opportunities both within the academy and beyond.

In this webinar, you will learn:

  • What academic branding is (and isn’t).
  • How academic branding can help your career.
  • The components of an academic brand.
  • The phases of the Academic Branding Cycle.
  • How to get started with your academic brand.

Join Caroline Eisner for this webinar July 26, 2018:

  • 1 p.m. Pacific
  • 2 p.m. Mountain
  • 3 p.m. Central
  • 4 pm Eastern

About the Presenter

Caroline Eisner is ACW’s Executive Director and an Academic Writing Coach. Caroline works with faculty and graduate students to help them articulate their ideas in their academic writing through clear and precise prose. She also works with ACW clients to bring their academic brand to life online. Her previous experience includes positions as the Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the College at Landmark College,  Associate Director of the Sweetland Writing Center at the University of Michigan, and Director of the Writing Center at Georgetown University. Caroline co-edited a collection of essays, Originality, Imitation, and Plagiarism: Teaching Writing in the Digital Age(UM Press 2008). In the past she worked on the Visible Knowledge Project at Georgetown University, and currently she is the Director of Middlebury College Bread Loaf School of English’s BreadNet, a networking tool that has connected the classrooms of teachers since 1984. Caroline received a BA in English from the University of Pennsylvania, an MA in English from Middlebury College, and a PhD in British Literature from George Washington University.

Academic Coaching & Writing™ 
Academic Coaching & Writing LLC is a California-based company whose purpose is to provide resources to students, faculty, and administrators in higher education via a group of professional academic coaches and consultants dedicated to supporting academic writing and career needs.

Details

Date:
July 26
Time:
16:00 - 17:00
Event Tags:
,